Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just wondering. I just bought it...yeah, I know, I've been riding for 5 years and I'm just now buying this book....and I was curious if you who have read it found very helpful? I've always heard good things about and I'm sure the basic principles still apply even though the book was written in 1993. What are your views on it? Thanks.

·
Registered
766 Posts
I started to read the first one. And although some things I've found very usefull, specifically reference points, I got bogged down in Code's grammatical attempts to sound technical. I hope the second one is better. If it is, I'll have to go pick it up.

·
Registered
304 Posts
I don't know what the big deal is with Keith Code. I think his books are garbage. I found that the first book makes better kindling than the second one, if that helps any?

·
Registered
205 Posts
I am reading TOTW2 right now and it's pretty informative but the biggest part is trying to keep those things in mind when you get out on the road. Trying to remember all of it.
One stupid thing is he has a list of defined words at the end of certain sections but they aren't even motorcycle terms. Most of them are just normal words that I guess Keith didn't know so he defined them thinking that other people wouldn't know either. Seems odd and out of place.

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
I read the first one long, long ago. Really all it does is make you think about what you're already doing. For a green beginner, I'd say buy it. If you've been riding for a while, I'm not so sure I'd bother.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Skip the first TOTW, go directly to TOTW2