Sportbike World banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
thanks cane. hmmm...so forks are fo suspensions? and i'm going to assume smaller tires = better control, since the center of gravity has gotten lower. am i correct? ok, another question:

What is the compression ratio all about?

Whats the difference between a V_Twin engine and all the other engines?

thanks...

------------------

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
i am new to the automotive world much less the motorcycle. i want to know where i can learn what specific parts of the bike funcitons as. i.e. forks, dyno? just so i can get a better understand of motorcycles in case i go out to a dealer and naively believe everything they tell me like when my motorcycle is busted, they say "thats what it's supposed to sound like" also, if you dont mind, can you tell me the most common problems that occur with motorcycles and how to deal with these? thanks

------------------

·
Registered
3,644 Posts
lots of good books, look for books by cameron (kevin, not kirk).

most dealers don't know crap about bikes, and will b.s. you anyway.

------------------
Tony

the views and opinions expressed by tony (cbrf2boy) are the ramblings of a total idiot. sbw.com, it's administrators, moderators, and members don't necessarily agree with and are not responsible for anything this idiot has to say.

for more ramblings try http://geocities.com/cbrf2boy

·
Registered
5,474 Posts
What Tony said. ;)

------------------
John

"If Harley made an airplane... would you fly in it?"

·
Registered
79 Posts
OK- let's begin. First lesson- the modern four stroke internal combustion engine. It all began in....