Sportbike World banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,517 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been wondering lately when you know you moved from rookie to 'not a rookie' and so-on.

I have been riding in the dirt since about 7 years old. Then I stopped at my teens due to circumstances beyond me. I started on the street in 92' and rode for two years before loosing my license due to a bad case of the squids and then I got back on in October of 99. ~~ SO, after crashing right away, I realized -"Damn, Im a rookie and didnt know it!"

Now, Im really starting to feel alot better on my bike, but Im still apprehensive alot.

Am I STILL a rookie? I cant hit the darn pegs yet even though I've been reeeeeally trying on the freeway on-ramps! :rolleyes: and I still have about a 1/4" of untouched tread on both sides of the rear tire. :(

I really gotta go to track school.

~~~Input??

------------------
Kyle J.-
email:[email protected]

"Reflect upon your present blessings, of which every man has many -- not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some."
-- Charles Dickens

·
Registered
873 Posts
Hey Kyle,

You sound like me.... i started riding in '92 and rode almost everyday for 2-1/2 years, i was kinda squidly, but after the 2-1/2 years i KNOW i was no longer a rookie, i think i had gotten to be a VERY talented rider.. but then i sold the bike and didnt ride again until this past january.

Well, needless to say, i lost alot of my old skills... although i dont think i fall into the squid category anymore (a good thing) i am working on redeveloping all the confidence and getting my bike dialed in. I had put more than 32,000 miles on my old bike and knew it inside and out, i could feel every nuance of feedback and knew exactly what it was doing. My new bike isnt so intimate with my senses yet. its tricky.