Sportbike World banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My mom is aginst motorcycles because my aunt got hit in the face by a flying inSest and crashed. Now she has a steel plate in her head......... But she was not wearing a helemt or armor. How could I get my mom to be ok when me having a motorcycle? I'm not very experienced on a motorcycle but I am looking into MSF.
I might be able to get a nice Kawasaki 440. I forgot the year. I am also wondering if it is a go bike to start on. Thanks

·
Strength and Honor
6,143 Posts
I recall a bunch of threads like this about 4 months ago, but don't see them. My recollection was that unless you're dependent on her (i.e. you're under 18), basically its tough break for her. Do what you want.

If you're under 18, its a tougher situation. If you have a negotiating kind of relationship, try to get her to allow it if you take the MSF SAFETY course and wear full gear. Then offer, as a followup, three seasons in, to take the Advanced MSF SAFETY course. Basically, there isn't much that can be done about some parents, so it depends on the kind of relationship you have with them.

EDIT: TGuns, you spelling Nazi :p

·
Registered
197 Posts
HA! sorry I seriously couldn't resist that one...

Uhhh, hey how about you offer to take your mom to the MSF course with you? Either she can watch you out on the pavement practicing safe riding skills, or if she's up for it, invite her to join up and see for herself. Might be worth a try.

Or, you can do what I did and just say "hey, mom and dad I bought a motorcycle" and watch what happens. good luck, and sorry for the speeeeling crack (again it was just too hard to resist).

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
lol sorry about that it was 4:00 am over here when I wrote that. I can't spell worth a sh*t to begin with. btw I mean insect

·
Registered
197 Posts