Sportbike World banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey! I live in Daytona Beach and as you know its biketoberfest. Anyways I have been riding for about 4 months now and I havent experienced this until now---on my left hand my ring finger and pinky feel FUZZY! WTF?? Its kinda like a numb feeling---who has experienced this---its kinda makin me nervous seeing that its been about 12 hours and it hasn't gone away---should i also take a rest from riding until full feeling comes back? GEKO

·
Registered
91 Posts
Geko - Some of the nerves that control your fingers run beneath your palm. Putting excessive weight on this area while riding can pinch/deaden these nerves.

There are a couple things you can do: The first and most important is train yourself to always support your weight with your midsection and legs. That lets you be light on the grips, and the nerves won't get pinched in the first place. Problem Solved!!!

Second - Adjust the controls so your hands lay in as natural a position as possible. In particular: Loosen the pinch bolts on your levers and rotate them so the back of your arm and top of your hand form as straight an angle as possible when you are sitting on the bike in riding position. Same applies for feet: The foot controls should be *right* there - You shouldn't have to reach for them at all.

Third - Softer grips and gloves with gel palms can also help, but be aware that they also take away a little feel from the front end.

Scott :)

·
Registered
1 Posts
I don't own a bike, I just browse these boards because I want one and I like the info you guys provide.

I had the same thing happen a few years ago. If it hasn't gone away yet go to a nuerologist right now. You have pinched your ulnur nerve. Do you also have a loss of strength in your hand, try pinching your thumb and first finger. Also is only half of your ring finger numb?