Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Retired Moderator
943 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

It seems that the forum was created and got started during the weekend, I just saw the first thread.
And what a great response!
I will be the moderarot here so let me introduce myself amd my naked bikes. BTW ALL my bikes are naked if we use the modern term for bikes with their engines (at least) visible.
Of course some of them are just old and changed category now ;)
I'm a mechanical engineer but I work as a computer programmer these days.
I have been riding since 1982 and went through Hondas C50, CB50, CB250 RS. Then I stopped selling my bikes and just got some more.
Now I have a 1983 Yamaha SR500 and a 2001 Kawasaki ZR7 plus 2 BMWs that belonged to my late father and I try to keep them running and restore them at the same time.
I'll try to post some pics of these bikes soon.
For the moment here is a pic of my ZR7: ( an old one actually)
Now the bike has a Titanium Devil slip on, KN filter, 112 main jets, Hyperpro fork kit, braided brake lines, Carbonne Lorainne brake pads and some more minor tweaks.
Unfortunately it has some problems with the gearbox now :(

Aris

Attachments

·
Retired Moderator
943 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
one more naked!

This is my 1983 SR500 and my friend's GPZ600R.
The picture was taken in 1990 I think but the bike is still in good condition.
It was rebuilt after a major crash with lots of cash spent on new parts. Then the motor was also rebuilt and now I take it out for a ride every now and then.
The SR500 has the longest production run ever I think (correct me if I'm wrong :D)
This could have been a trivia question! The SR500 has been in production since 1979 and I think it is still produced new for the Japanese market. It was exported to Europe until 2 3 years ago.
At first it was a 'Standard' and now they call it 'Retro'. Strange...
Aris

PS: note the colour of the silencer! :cool:

Attachments

·
Retired Moderator