Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well ive been riding for 3 months on my 250 and im interested in buying a bigger bike when ive driven for a year and well im just after your preferences guys on which bike would be worth looking into

2005 Z750 Kawasaki

Suzuki SV650

Suzuki GS500

S40

·
Registered
1,344 Posts
Which bike to upgrade to

My own preference would be 1 to 4 in the same exact order you listed them.

·
Registered
7,447 Posts
ExplodingCommod said:
well ive been riding for 3 months on my 250 and im interested in buying a bigger bike when ive driven for a year and well im just after your preferences guys on which bike would be worth looking into

2005 Z750 Kawasaki

Suzuki SV650

Suzuki GS500

S40
After you've ridden for the year, you should be able to jump on the SV650 without a drama. Some people consider this to be a great first bike, but it'd be a good step-up from the 250.

You'll probably just be bored with the GS500. Don't know anything about the Z750 or S40.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the advice man the more information the better though , considering im still new to this. To be a little honest though i have a small fear of sport bikes lol *shrug* could keep me alive

·
Registered
1,820 Posts
Fearing sportbikes is overrated (unless you're referring to literbikes), it really is the same concept, once you gain good experience on beginner bikes (250) and intermediate bikes (sv650), going into 600 should be no problem, same principle, just handles better at high speed and respect the top-end.

I've taken MSF where older students or guys interested in cruisers were raving about how sportbikes are coffin on wheels. If anything, being on sportbike might just save your life compared to a bike with 1 disc braking. Because on the road, cages don't care whether you're riding a cruiser or sportbike, you're vulnerable just the same.

·
Registered
6,400 Posts