Sportbike World banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

I'm new to motorcycles and want to get into a nice sport bike. I am planning on taking the MSF course in a week or two depending on when the next class is.

A couple questions I've had are:

-Do I need a bike for the MSF course or do they have ones for you to use? (and yes i've checked the site and couldnt tell)

-I've got like a $3500 budget and was wondering if I could get into anything for that much, like bike, couple months of insurance, helmet, leathers possibly and anything else I would need.

I am looking at getting into a 400-700cc bike. Any model that's a good bike thats cheap? Where should I buy dealer or privately? Used or new (i dont think im in the price range for new)

Thanks

P.S. I searched for almost all these questions so posts like search dont help if u could link a thread if there already is one that would be great....

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
They supply the bikes (125 or 250cc) at the beginner MSF class.

Try looking for used Honda CBR600 F2's or F3's.. or I guess a Kawasaki Ninja 500. You could probably get one of those and still have money to spare for gear. I don't know how much your insurance would be.

·
Registered
217 Posts
a private seller would be the cheapest route (if you can pay cash), but make sure that you have someone, that knows bikes, go along with you and check it out.

·
Premium Member
4,823 Posts
Looks like you are from Michigan, then I assume you are taking the MSF course at Macomb. They have little shitty Hondas there, so you won't need a bike. The bikes do the job though...you'll learn everything you'll need. This is your first bike, well I suggest not getting anything too overwhelming or too powerful. You budget will work great and should be able to find a decent bike.

You should meet up with some of us in Royal Oak on Thursday night. We are in a club