Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Resident Smart Ass!
3,933 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I got the Twist of the Wrist DVD yesterday, watched it last night and tried out what I learned today. Stinkin sweet is all I can say for it. Had one of, if not my best ride since I started riding.

I decided that I did not have to work until 1 that I would try what I learned, sooooooooooo here goes (Hope you like stories)...

I left the house around 10 and headed for the hills. Instead of my usual route I went a different one. Hauled arse through the twisties faster and more confident than ever before. Got 20 miles out of town and decided to go for more. :D

Hauled arse again up a hill into a sweeping left turn, got nice and close to the inside of the turn, see a Suburban coming my way pulling a travel trailer, the cage had those wide mirrors that extended out 3 feet on either side. Of course my head is aimed right for the mirror on the driver's side. Let off the throttle and pulled to the right, :eek: cleared it.

Got about 15 miles further and got into some tighter turns, went into a right hander and slowly drifted into the opposite lane a bit.. :eek: :eek: , got her fixed and back in my lane. Not 2 seconds later a cage came from the other way, that was a little too close.

Coming home I got on a nice looooooooong straight away, could not open it up though, to many cages. :( Got around them all, finally. Looked to the skies for and piggy choppers, none in site :D . Opened it up and tucked in behind the windscreen. I could not even hear the wind! All I heard and felt was the bike. The purr of the engine is a great thing when you hear it and feel it. Got her up to 120, then I got stuck behind more cages :( .

Got about 1/4 mile from home, got a cramp on the back of my leg. Glad it was on my home though.