Sportbike World banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was watching Speedvision today, and they were talking about the Dunlp 207RR. Which appearantly is race compound with street traction. I ride a 2001 R1, and I know I don't ride the bike anywhere near it's full potential. But would something like this be beneficial? The tread on my bike is getting pretty thin, and it will need new tires by next season. I've not experienced a problem with the stock tires that came on the bike, and I have no experiences with other brands to compare their performance to. To give you an idea of the roads I'm riding, I'm located in central Indiana. Nothing incredibly twisty, but we have our share of twisty country roads.

Also, what is a good tire pressure for the front and back tire? I've been reading between 30 and 36 psi is best. It also seems that people keep their front tire a bit lower in pressure than their rear tire. Is this for handling purposes?

As always, thank you for your input.

·
Registered
1,547 Posts
I don't know what you're paying out there but at chapparel I can get a pair of 207 ZR (read carefully, not the RR) for 210 installed (wheels off the bike). I imagine the RR will run somewhere close to 100 bucks a set more. In my experience the 207 ZR never even hinted at sliding all the way to peg (not peg feeler) grinding and knee dragging angles. It's an awesome tire, especially for the price. And when I was doing mostly commuting it lasted well over 4k miles. I hear of some real hard sport riders getting less than 2miles when ridden to the extreme in seriously tight roads but I doubt that's what you're riding in indiana (hey, I grew up in illinois so I know what you most likely are riding). You'll never need the extra grip of the rr tire so save your money (unless this tire ends up a lot cheaper than I'm guessing, $100/set more).