Sportbike World banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I have been riding cycles for a couple years now and I think it is about time I learn what I need to do with my suspension. I have a '97 GSXR-600 and I have never touched any thing related to the suspension on it. I have read about how to dial it in for track use, but for the street I don't hear that much. I would say I am a semi-aggressive street rider. I would love to be able to start changing things and knowing what the results will be, when I will feel the changes (high speed, low speed, bumps, turns, etc). WHEW...Thanks for any info.

------------------

·
Registered
104 Posts
Hi there. I'm not a suspension guru by any means, but I've been riding for a long time (IMO), so I'd like to think that I know a little about the subject. For STREET use, I know that this also includes some twisties, but I'm not talking track use, I've found that a lot of how much twiddling w/the settings you must do depends upon two things, your weight, and your level of aggressiveness. I raised the rear spring preload on my bike one notch, and increased the rebound damping one notch, and I swear it made all the difference in the world. By my "seat of the pants" meter, it made the difference between being able to take a certain corner at 75, and the same corner at 85, w/the bike feeling very stable. Some may disagree, but here's how I do things...change one thing and one thing only at a time. Change the one thing, and ride the piss out of it and see how it feels. If you like it, great, if you don't, change it back and then change something else. If you change more than one thing at the same time, you won't be able to determine what you changed that is making a difference. Make sense? Hope this helps...good luck.

------------------
Cosmo
'97 Katana 750

·
Registered
6 Posts
**********Caution****************************
Sorry for being dramatic, but let me explain.