Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been reading the forums for the past couple weeks and Im still a little confused on which bike I should start on. I've only been a passenger a couple of times so Im really new to bikes and Im also only 5'6 and 140 lbs

I was looking at getting a Ninja 250R but then I read somewhere that it cant cruise at like 70-80mph for a long time. So now Ive been thinking of getting a larger bike but I have no idea if that would be too much for me. Thanks for the input.

·
Registered
70 Posts
hey man, I dont' have much experience because i don't own one yet either, but i have been researching for quite a while and the gs500f looks like a really nice bike for beginners. My advice might not be the best seeing as how i don't own one yet, but maybe that will help you out.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok so if it is BS then should I be looking at that or would I be ok getting a higher cc bike?

·
Strength and Honor
6,143 Posts
Any 500 is just fine, as are some 600s, at least my MY standards. There are several on here who'd suggest even a modern day 600 race replica is fine, and there's even a smaller minority who think liter bikes (1000cc and up) are ok.

To be safe, stick with my recommendations, of course :laughing: or not. Just follow the other standard beginner recommendations and your chances of surviving to enjoy the sport will be greatly increased.

Oh, and since I haven't seen you before, welcome!

·
Registered
1,344 Posts
Beginner bikes

Kawasaki Ninja 500R or the new for 2006 Ninja 650R.

Suzuki SV 650 or GS 500F.

·
Registered
7,447 Posts
Witt said:
...I was looking at getting a Ninja 250R but then I read somewhere that it cant cruise at like 70-80mph for a long time...
Sure, it's not as good as a bigger bike at those speeds, but the 250 will cruise along just fine.

·
Registered
112 Posts