Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been riding about 10 years now and am looking into playing with wheelies. From my perspective, it would seem that you have more control during a stand up than a sit down wheelie? Is that correct?

·
Registered
8,798 Posts
once at bp. stand ups are easier to keep there. The initial jump is easier sitting down

·
Registered
10 Posts
I started out doing sit down wheelies and now I just can't get used to the weird feeling when I've tried to do some stand-ups. I know stand-ups are more stable and easier to control but I feel really out of place standing up on the pegs. I hope I get over it sooner or later but at this point I'm not very opptimistic. :(

Attachments

·
Registered
2,904 Posts
Same here. I've been doing sit down wheelies for 1/2 yr then two months ago, when I tried to learn how to do standups. I flipped the RR going about 15-20mph. It felt really odd doing it too. Sit downs is more comfortable for me and with the RR, I could do it in 2nd gear.

I like doing wheelies after going over a hill on a road. Thats always fun, cept when cops get you for reckless endangerment. I tried to speak to the cop about physics. Too bad he couldn't understand.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah. I could understand falling off the back if it came up too quick, but, being short, I would think that as I get the bike up, I would have a hard time seeing where I was going. I was out watching some kids stunt this weekend and decided to maybe slap a cage and a wheelie bar on my '92 R6 to play around on so I don't screw up my '05.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #7