Sportbike World banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to sport bikes, but i have been riding dirt bikes since i was like 8.
Now i want to get a sportbike, now I'm 5'6'' 145 (athletic build) still packing on some weight, now ive been looking at the honda cbr 600, is there anyway i can get the bike lowerd so i can get both feetflat on the ground?

·
Registered
452 Posts

·
Registered
452 Posts
when i got my first bike it was lowered, and im tall, so i raised it back up.

there is a quick way to do it which will increase your wheelbase, which is bad for turnability

And the right way which uses the quick way plus one other step.... i had a picture posted a long time ago of what to look for on the rear.... hold up....

·
Registered
452 Posts
alright i cannot find my thead, but i found some pictures.... to do it right, you have to lower both the front and the back of the bike...

3inches lowerin back, 3 inches lower in front... it will keep the bike more balanced (even though your already throwing it off of the specs and ground clearance, bad mojo)

The rear, replace this, with these, they're lowering links, and adjust accordingly and keep measurements

The front, simply loosen the forks from the tripple tree's and let gravity do the work. I wouldnt do them both at once because it can drop really fast if you're not carfull. So loosen one of the sides, the right lets say, loosen both the top right and lower right tripple tree, and shimmee the right fork up. tighten up the right and then adjust the left side. You migh have to do this more than once... And dont forget to keep the measurements accurate

and make sure the forks are EVENLY matched both left and right. I used a digital caliper to get it to the thousanth. I was told that unevenness can do bad things, so i pass the word

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~