Sportbike World banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
A little more information is necessary before anyone can give you any meaningful advice.....

What kind of bike?

What kind of riding are you doing?

What are you having trouble with? Are your shifts not smooth? Are you ending up frequently in the wrong gear? Are you missing shifts?

Have you taken any MSF courses?

There is a lot more to shifting than meets the eye. There are times that shifting can be dangerous. (such as when you are leaned over in a corner) When and how to shift may not be something that can be adequately explained in a forum, but if you can be a little more specific, I'm sure you can get some degree of help.

·
Registered
8 Posts
You know after reading this I think I can use some work on mine as well.

I am a new rider (only been riding for about 7 months). I'm also new to driving a manual, so it took me a while to get the hang of shifting.

However I have realized I have the tendency to shift a lot on turns. Mind you I am not pulling any knee dragging turns, but I do catch myself up shifting a lot. Specially if I make a turn from a stop, I tend to shift up mid turn.

Once I was making a left turn, and I did a toe dragger... it was different. :eek:

I don't ride hard, and I drive a '01 YZF600r, I also try and make big curves at around 6000rpms.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have taken the MSF cours.

I have a 2001 Katana 600

Most of my riding is done on the street of Philadelphia. Stop and go stuff.

I think i shift 2 early. I'm in like 5th doing 40. From the way you guys talk on the board, It sounds like yous are in 1st or 2nd at this speed. I hear other bikes screaming by and you can't even hear me. I guess I'm acared to wind it up, don't want to trash my bike after only 400 miles.

When I down shift coming to a stop, I sometimes get stuck in between 2nd & N

·
Registered
254 Posts