Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anybody ever install a shift lite on their street bike? I'm new to bikes so I don't know much about this, but I know that Autometer makes some micro lites that could probably fit really nicely on a bike. If somebody has done this, and his pics, please send the link or e-mail it to me.

~Scott

------------------
98 Mustang GT - x-pipe, springs, rack bushings, cat-back exhaust, K&N, clear corners, etc.
Bike - none yet

·
Registered
873 Posts
Ok,

I want to take this moment to espouse on some fundamental differences between GearHead CAR stuff and GearHead BIKE stuff.

A term used widely in the sportbiking circles is "POSER". Additionally, youve already heard "SQUID" used widely.

The term Poser stems from guys buying a sportbike and immediately wanting it to look like that "coolest" most "tricked out" race machine ever to hit the roadways. This is a big problem. Competently riding a sportbike is NOTHING at all like driving a muscle car. I grew up with a fascination for the Mach1 and Boss302 Mustangs. I was a teenage gearhead. I dreamed of someday having the baddest ass 'Stang with all the trick equipment and go-fast parts you could want. This is normal. This is a Muscle car thing.

SPORTBIKES on the other hand are a different animal. It isnt about all those "pretty" and 95% useless accessories. With a sportbike there really is no need for a shiftlight. Unless you are pulling 8second quarter miles at the local dragstrip there is absolutely no need for one. This brings me to the underlying difference between muscle cars and sportbikes. Muscle cars are judged on thier quarter mile ET. Sportbikes are judged on handling, stability and to some extent, top speed. Quarter Mile time is an added novelty, but these bikes are not designed for drag racing. If you are only concerned with 1/4 mile ET than a sportbike is not what you need.