Sportbike World banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anybody know why race gas leaves that white powder on your can? Is it just the gas they've got at my track or is all racing gas? This wasn't the super crazy $25 a gallon race gas, just your run of the mill $4 a gallon stuff.

Is it because it's oxygenated and it burns cleaner? What's the deal?

------------------

·
Registered
66 Posts
I'm not a fuel expert but I do know it is because of the lead. In the "Muscle Car" days that's how we tuned 'em. Black on the pipes, too rich, white on the pipes, just right!

------------------
Marty

·
Registered
62 Posts
Higher octane gas will do nothing to help the performance of your bike unless it is rebuilt to utilize it. The only thing race gas will help on is the fact that it has no pollution crap in it, thus it will make it run better, but not faster. If you are running pump gas, 87 octane will give you a stronger punch than 92. Higher octane gas will burn slower making less horse UNLESS your bike is built to handle and utilize it.

- Jeff -

------------------

Kahuna's Home Page
ICQ # - 14578052

[This message has been edited by Kahuna (edited August 27, 2000).]

·
Registered
23 Posts
What do you mean by built to use it?? and does it make a difference if you change back and forth. 94-87-94 octane.

------------------

[This message has been edited by snyder (edited August 27, 2000).]

[This message has been edited by snyder (edited August 28, 2000).]

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sorry, no offense taken, I guess I came across too harsh. Should have used a smilie. :)

So that's the answer - it's leaded gas, so it leaves a white powder on my can?

------------------

·
Registered
3,644 Posts
what 47 is referring to is 110+ octane (which will increase power, but to me not enough to justify the costs).

the white should be from the mixture being a lean. i don't know why it does it though.

------------------
Tony