Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still new to the sportbike world, havent even gotten a bike yet. Figured that getting a new bike would be the same as far as plastic prices go anyway.

From what I have researched the CBR seems the way to go, but theres a 99 R6 still at my dealer that was just shoved over to make room for the 2000s.

Its a beautiful bike, WAY better looking than the other 600s with maybe the exception of the GSX-R. It just came out of the shop with some mods such as frame sliders ( A thing I would be doing right away anyway) and some aluminum cosmetic add ons. Hes asking 9000 CDN so which would be 6000 US I know I can get him to knock off another 500 if I purchase some other stuff. He dont know I need a helment and jacket anyhow.

But from what I have also heard is that the R6 is not exactly the starter bike for someone who plans to do a lot of sport touring. I have sat on almost all 600s and feel comfortable on all. Yes I am a little more stretched out on the CBR so... Any opinions.

Also one other thing, Y2Kr1girl :) :) :), marry me??

------------------
Real Rebels Ride Rice Burners
-so take that, you cellular totin', cruiser riding wannabe!

·
Registered
3,644 Posts
have you considered the sv650s? you're canadian, you can get them, do it.

i've met guys who tour on r1's and they're way uncomfortable compared to the r6.

------------------
Tony

the views and opinions expressed by tony (cbrf2boy) are the ramblings of a total idiot. sbw.com, it's administrators, moderators, and members don't necessarily agree with and are not responsible for anything this idiot has to say.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok now how does a R1 compare to the R6..is it the R1 has a tighter body position?