Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On my bike it seems very difficult to make a smooth shift from first to second. All my other shifts are fine, but the shifting from first to second is very rough. Not so much the clutch release, but the actual shift. It seems kind of loud and like it doesn't slip into gear as easily as the others. Any ideas? Also, what rpm do you guys shift at when you are riding around town?

------------------
97 FZR 600
D&D Carbon Fiber Pipe

1990 5.0 Mustang

·
Registered
2,517 Posts
I am no mechanic, but I will suggest synthetic oil to start... It made mine shift noticeably smoother.

------------------
Kyle J.-
email:[email protected]

G

·
Not a mechanic either, but I know that going from first to second is different than going from second to third, third to fourth, etc., because you are passing neutral in the process. Someone correct me if I am wrong.

As for RPM, I usually shift just 5K when cruising. It just sounds right (engine whine wise, I mean).

------------------
Pete
Email: [email protected]

[This message has been edited by Pete (edited April 19, 2000).]

·
Registered
42 Posts
I run Mobil syntec and it shifts more quiet than also than when on a diet of conventional oil. I notice also the bike shifts much more smooth when at higher rpm,like it's ready to be shifted. The loudest shift for me is when stopped and going from n. to 1st.

------------------

·
Registered
8 Posts
Well,