Sportbike World banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new at the sportbikeworld & was wondering if power-shifting damages the clucth-basket or any component on bikes? I know that it's used by experienced riders, but just wanted feed-back on the pros. & cons. of powershifting....Your help is greatly appreciated.;)

·
Registered
227 Posts
I use powershifting only on upshifts, i tried it a few times on downshifts but never felt comfrotable doing it. What it give me is a faster upshift. The faster upshift can be done on the street but it's really helpful on the track days.

I used to ride and race dirt bikes and there I only used the clutch to stop or go, but it was more fogiving on a dirt bike then a street bike if you got caught between gears.

·
Registered
1,698 Posts
I just had a disagreement with my husband over this. He insists that I learn how, I don't think I need to. (he only does it for upshifting btw). I have tried it, but I just can't "feel" when the engine and tranny are in-synch, so I think I am indeed hurting the bike. If you do it right, I don't see how you could possibly be hurting the bike.

·
Registered
244 Posts
I do it but only at low RPMS (5-6k). How do you know if the engine and Tran are in synch?
What can happen to the bike if you do it wrong a lot?

TIA

·
Registered
489 Posts
I have always used clutchtless up shifts for as long as i remember.
I think you will be able to tell if you are doing it right.
Whilst accelerating hard close the throttle a bit and quickly snick the gear change up one and then wind the throttle open again. The idea is to change gear when there is no load on the gears allowing a smooth change. If you change gear whilst the power is still on then maybe that is when damage can happen.:crying:
I have never had transmission or clutch problems with any of my bikes (touch wood) and as far as i know the people that have had the bikes after me havent had any problems with them either.