Sportbike World banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I noticed that one of the guys recommends a polish because it is alkali. We'll I'm sorry folks but alkalis are no better for your polished pieces than acids. Infact, they may even be worse. Sodium Hydroxide is an alkali. It EATS ALUMINUM. As does ammonia, another alkali. Infact all anhydrous chemicals are hard on metals, and many of the substances used in polishes are anhydrous. Having said that does the manufacturer state the pH of his product? or just state that it is alkali because they use an alkali component. Carnauba, which is accepted as being the brightest wax in the world is acidic. that has it's own set of problems, but it doesn't stop it from being useful to show polishers. Though it is of little use to museums.
I suppose I ought to tell you a little about me to qualify my statements.
I am a professional polisher. I own English Custom Polishing.
a custom polishing and chrome plating shop.
I also make my own polishes.
The antique range have the ph rating on the website.
No acids, no anhydrous, no alkali.
Basically pH neutral.
Check out the photogallery at www.englishcustompolishing/usca/gallery.html
Oh, by the way, I use a solution of 15% sodium hydroxide to strip anodizing off aluminum. it takes seconds!I hope it's not in your polish!

·
Registered
301 Posts
Polisher,