Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just got new tires 3 weeks ago..... today i see i have a nail in the rear. so i pluged it. it's fine..... should i go buy a new tire. or just ride on this one ???? thanks for your help !!!! z1000 2005

·
Registered
7,448 Posts
bulldogboogers said:
...should i go buy a new tire. or just ride on this one ????...
The one's been hashed-out more times than I can recall. If you do a search, you'll find lots of info.

FTR, I'm in favour of plugging, if done from the inside with a "thumb-tack" plug.

·
Registered
233 Posts
Believe me I’m no mechanic, and I didn’t even stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, but I wouldn’t want to trust a plug in one of my bike tires. That would make me nervous as hell!:eek:

·
Registered
227 Posts
Even though a plug might be just fine and nothing would ever happen, I wouldn't use one. In the back of my mind I would always be second guessing that tire, and with everything else there is to worry about when riding it just isn't worth it.

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
Hi All-

Cookeetree and I feel the same way. The nightmare stories against plugging tires must have been started by Dunlop, Bridgestone, Pirelli, Metzeler, and Avon!

You won't want to push the tire to triple-digit speeds on a hot racetrack in southern Florida in the summer, but there is no reason not to have tires patched as mentioned above and just keep an eye on it. Who has the kind of money to purchase replacements each time one encounters a nail, screw, or tack?

~ Blue Jays ~

·
Registered
7,448 Posts
Blue Jays said:
...The nightmare stories against plugging tires must have been started by Dunlop, Bridgestone, Pirelli, Metzeler, and Avon!...
:laughing:

I think the nightmare stories are true, but are based on patching technology that dates back to when Jesus got a flat on his donkey.