Sportbike World banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

I'm new to this page and had a question about plugging a hole in my rear tire. I had a small nail in the tread groove not the actual contact (surface) area of the tire. I had it plugged today and it seems fine. Is there anything I should be aware of with this plug, I do take the bike up over 140mph quite often. Thanks in advance

------------------

·
Registered
167 Posts
This is one of those topics such as to lube or not lube a chain, which oil to use, etc., that always come up and you'll get a variety of advice.

Some will say never ride on a plugged tire any further than to get to a tire shop to replace it.

Some say that a properly repaired tire is OK but loses one speed rating.

Me? I've ridden 1,000+ miles on a tire that I patched on the interior (not just a plug) because it got a nail when it was nearly brand new. I replaced it a little earlier than I would have otherwise. But I didn't (and wouldn't) trust it at 140 mph. Hell, that's academic, however. I don't even own a bike right now that will DO 140 mph.

------------------

·
Registered
3,644 Posts
if you ride a damaged tire (i have in college, but wouldn't now that i'm not a broke college student), get it repaired from the inside. also, be careful of the pressures in your tires (a good lesson for anyone).

------------------
Tony

00 GSX-R750-yellow & black--break-in sucks!!!
88 FZR400-krylon black
94 CBR600F2--sold

P

·
0 Posts
I agree that this topic is debated by many, and I have heard of guys running hard and long with as many as three plugs in one tire with no problems. Me, uh-uh. I'd replace the tire as soon as possible, but that's just me and my worrisome self.

------------------
Pete
Email: [email protected]

·
Registered
503 Posts