Sportbike World banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am asking for the opinion of experienced riders for their opinion of getting a 1990, or a little newer, FZR 600 as a first bike. I have very little experience on a bike and have signed up for abait, but that is a little more than two months away. My friend, that has been to California Superbike School, is going to teach me the basics. If I purchase a FZR 600 i plan on going to California Superbike School session 1 ( operating on a limited budget). I know that 600's are alot for a newbie but older 600's have less power than modern 600's. What I am wondering is if this would be a reasonable starter bike and for any advice on riding.

Thanx,
cyber_rider

·
Registered
418 Posts
FZR's are great! I learned how to ride on a 92'. When it came down to a bike of my own I debated between the FZR and the F2. Ended up with the F2 for a couple reasons but FZR's are good first bikes, plus slightly easier on the wallet.

·
Registered
3,644 Posts
fzr's aren't ideal. but for a sportbike, it's not the worst choice. reliable, good looking. has enough oddities to teach you about caring for a bike. 91-2 are the best years. single headlight looks GREAT on them. the double headlights are weird.

gs500, ex500, etc. are better choices. but if a real sportbike is your choice, it's a good one.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Double headlights are weird??? I think all the new bikes had a collision with a MIB (Men in Black) sized insect and lost! I think the old endurance style double round headlights are be-utiful! Not that I wouldn't trade my bike with anyone who would offer me a new bike (I would) but I do think the new bikes look strange.