Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wanted to introduce myself. I'm Tim, and I'm just getting into sportbikes. I'm buying a '05 R6 in a week or two. Any suggestions are welcome!

·
Resident Smart Ass!
3,933 Posts
Welcome! :hello:

Is this your first bike?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Jester said:
Welcome! :hello:

Is this your first bike?
First sportbike, yes. I've gotten a little flack about getting the r6 as my first SB, so I know it's a serious machine. I'm also considering the Kawasaki z1000.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
sidewaysducati said:
Welcome to the site!

If you haven't ridden any motorcycles before, give some thought to which bike should be your first.
:thumb:
Up until this point, I've only ridden cruisers. But for a mature adult rider, is the r6 really too much to start on, or is that just for irresponsible riders who will push it too hard, too fast? I have several friends who started on an r6, and they had no problems.

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
IMO, with a consistent mature approach, the 600 is much less a safety risk than the literbike. IMO, no matter how mature one is, with the present day's literbikes being as powerful and responsive as they are, a literbike for one's first sportbike is really rolling the dice.

I'll just tell you my experience (which compared to MANY on here is VERY limited..)

I started with dirtbikes, riding off the roadways and got a general feel for bikes. Then I got a '79 Suzi GS850 (standard issue streetbike). I also rode an '82 Virago (the cc escapes me at the moment..) during this time.