Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys,
I am new to the world of street bikes and am in need of lots of advice. First off let me introduce myself. My name is Andy, I’m 18, and from North Carolina. I’ve wanted a motorcycle for a long time, and finally trying to pursue this goal. I would like to own a street bike for the fun factor, and currently driving an F-150 with a 5.8l V8 is killing my wallet with these gas prices.

My first and biggest problem is my parents. Currently they are absolutely against me owning a street bike. They believe it’s too dangerous and say “as long as I’m under this roof its not happening” Did anyone else run into parents like this when they where my age? Can anyone shed some light on changing their minds?

Assuming I, in the end can change their minds I would also like some advice on what bike to get. I have ridden dirt bikes and four wheelers but not enough to amount to any real world experience. I have read about starting out on a 250, or 500 but not sure if they will fit me. I am 6 foot 1, and weigh 215 pounds. Will a smaller bike fit me, or will I need something like a 600 to be comfortable? I would like to buy used and not spend to much money for everything.

Thanks a lot,
Correll

·
Registered
28 Posts
haha

What i did was buy it w.o telling them bring it home and surprise them. if your buying it with your own money why not? But then you have to respect your parents. b.c you do live under there roof. just show them your love for bikes, put pictures everywhere buy magazines and leave them on the dinner table or coffee table. be smart, and 600cc bike IS NOT a problem for you, both my friend and i started and learned on a 600cc bike, he has a R6 and i have a gsxr600. and plus your a big man, we are 140 LB lol...

·
Strength and Honor
6,143 Posts

·
Registered
980 Posts