Sportbike World banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a new rider here, for streetbikes anyway. I have been riding dirtbikes for about 9 years. I have ridden some street but not much. I am looking to buy a yamaha yzf-r6. I am unsure if i should go new or used. Any input would be helpful as well as anything else i should look for or look out for buying a street bike. I have signed up but have not taken a rider education course where i will get my license.

·
Registered
5,373 Posts
IMO used can be as good as new. It just depends on where/who you buy the bike off of. For all you know the person who had it before you beat the thing to shit. Or maybe it was only ridden to church on sundays by a little old lady.

If I had the money I would definately go with a new one. And it sounds to me like you've been riding more than long enough to start out on a 600. Just be careful of that quick throttle response:2cents:

·
Registered
76 Posts
You can pick up a low mileage used bike piece of cake at a way lower price...

I saw plenty of 2001 F4i's going for around $5500, in perfect shape and low miles.

·
Registered
6,400 Posts
Take a look at the Suzy SV-650 then the SV-650s & decided if you want that much of a lean forward. If the regular riding position, since you are accustom to the dirt upright riding position, then the SV-650 can be fitted with a 1/2 fairing to break the wind.

Bike has bags of torque due to the V-twin power-plant & is a lot of fun to ride compared to a sportbike that is really NOT an ideal bike in city/town streets.

·
Registered
1,249 Posts
How about a Triumph Tiger, or a V-strom..........similiar riding position from a dirt bike.........similar being used loosely. Just my :2cents:

And buy used.........why drop a perfectly brand new motorcycle?

·
Registered
76 Posts