Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm about 6'2"-3" but I'm a big guy. I weigh like 260 lbs. Is there a too big for a sport bike? I'm just getting into them and I want to know if I should just forget about it..

·
Premium Member
3,449 Posts
Just getting into them you should forget about any current 4-banger race rep (600, 1000). A Ninja 500 will hustle you around just fine, and combined with the MSF and some gear, might help you live long enough to enjoy a Supersport.

·
Registered
8,798 Posts
A friend of mine is around 320-340lbs and he rode a 600 for a while

·
S370HSSV 0773H
7,437 Posts
You're roughly the same size I am. I've ridden some 600's and and 1100 just fine. Hell even a Buell Blast can make my fat ass out-accelerate most cars on the road.

Short answer: No, you're not too big.

·
Premium Member
3,449 Posts
Just to throw this out there, my 600 has a seat height of 32.5 inches and my 999 is at 30.5 inches. When I put them side-by-side, the 600 is noticeable bigger in physical size (though the wheelbase is shorter by 20mm). The 999 is heavier, though it doesn't necessarily feel it. So "bigger" isn't necessarily bigger if you get my drift.

You're not that heavy compared to some of the people I've seen on smaller-displacement bikes. Ergonomically, the SV (or similar) would probably be more comfortable than a supersport anyways. Don't rule out the GS-500F either. It's not as potent as other bikes, but awesome to learn on.

·
Registered
7,448 Posts
I'm about 6'2"-3" but I'm a big guy. I weigh like 260 lbs. Is there a too big for a sport bike? I'm just getting into them and I want to know if I should just forget about it..
Height-wise, yeah, you'll be a bit more cramped, but nothing that a lot of other big riders haven't been able to get used to.