Sportbike World banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone I just have a question about insurance. I'm 18 and want to get a new bike like a ninja 650r or something around that.

I am in the process of taking the riders course and I'm trying to get insurance quotes for the bike with full collision and everything because I'm gonna finance it. The thing is I got about four quotes and they're all over the place.
  • Gieco was 350/month
  • Progressive was 130/month
  • One websites was like 10k a year.
  • And BikelinE's rate is $21,874 a year.
This was with collision @ 1000 deductible.

I have a clean license and everything i'm just scared that i'll take the course drop all this money into a bike and get stuck with a rate sky high. Is progressive usually a cheaper one or what? If someone can just help me clear this up i'd appreciate it. Thanks

·
Premium Member
3,449 Posts
I've had progressive for my bikes since I started riding in '03. At the time I was 20. Not sure what I was paying then, but if you fast forward a little to '05 when I had a '92 CBR600F2 and '05 GSX-R600, I was paying ~$135/mo. Couple tickets on my record. The next year, it went down to ~$50/month. It dropped to about $30/month a few months before I turned 25 this year. Then I got the Ducati and it's back up to $55/month. I hope you kept up with all that.

I carry full coverage with $1000 additional aftermarket parts coverage on the Gixxer, and $1000 deductibles on both bikes. Currently I have 1 speeding ticket and 1 traffic device infraction on my record.

·
Premium Member
3,449 Posts
Is that full coverage or basic? Alot of fluctuations, jeez.
That was full coverage w/$1000 deductible (when I had the CBR I only carried liability on it). I'm guessing they jacked it up for the first couple years because of my record. When I kept clean for a while they dropped it quite a bit. And of course 25 is the magic age when insurance becomes affordable.

·
Registered