Sportbike World banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all you electronic genius'es. Since I just got my new Y2K R1 six weeks ago , needless to say I am A TAD paranoid about it getting lifted. I purchased a "gorilla" alarm.It is a great alarm, but I had to mount it under the fairing. As a result it is not as loud as I would like it.
My question is -- is there any way to connect it to the horn and use the horn in conjuction with the alarm. My guess is it shouldn't be more difficult than a couple of wires.

------------------

·
Registered
1,322 Posts
chAAAaa bro...this is an easy one. Not sayin' that to make you feel stupid by any means, just that I worked with wiring and electrical systems for years, so I have some decent background.

Supplies:
1- Good pair of crimpers/cutters
2- pkg. of butt connectors (blue: 14-16ga.)
3- A few feet of 18ga. stranded copper wire
4- patience and the abiltiy to read :D ;)

Anyway, I'm not sure how many horns there are on the R1. Some bikes have two, others have one. First thing you need to do is...establish how many horns are on the bike and then find how many wires go to each one. Usually on multiple horn systems, they are run in series: two wires to one horn, then one wire to the next horn. One horn or two; you ought to have two wires to the first (or primary) horn.

My buddy and I did this exact thing to his older Yammi and it worked great. What you do is look at the wiring running into the primary horn. There should be one wire going into the horn and another mounted external of the horn in order to ground the system. Cut the hot wire (the one running into the horn itself).