Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
how to convince the parents?

What up, Im a freshman in college, who in HS saved up enough money to buy a bike. Im trying to get a Ninja 500 or maybe a bandit or seca if I cant find a 500. Problem is my parents hate the idea of me getting a bike cause they think I will kill myself. Im going about this in all the right ways, Ive signed up for the MSF in May (which they tell me to cancle, asap). Plan on getting the gear and all that jazz.

I tried to tell them all the staticis and that bikes arn't that bad and they get a negative sterotype. They still refuse the idea, and Im running out of ways to convice them. And I have a cage btw, no ticketts or accidents so far. I do live in heavy traffic area, Northern VA. Heavy during rush hr, not too bad through out day.

Any help or ideas would be good.

·
Registered
233 Posts
I have one question: do you still live with your parents? If you dont I cant understand why you dont get one, theyll get over it shortly.

If you do still live with your parents just try to explain how fuel efficient bikes are, how cheap insurance is on them, how you will drive with awarness, etc. Also how angry will they be if you just buy one and show up to your house with it, will they just live with it? Or you could do what I did and buy a bike 1 month after I moved out!:)

A note to all parents....do not tell your kid "as soon as you move out you can get yourself a bike, until then you cant get one" because they will, as soon as they move out!:thumb:

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I live w/them. I'm only 18 and don't plan on moving until I graduate around 21ish. Umm I told them what if I bring onehome and they said they would stop helping me for college...

They also implied after I move out I can get one, but that is many years away.

·
Registered
227 Posts