Sportbike World banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do you guys use your helmet locks or just carry your helmet into the store, bank or wherever?

My old Kawasaki has the helmet locks set up so that the helmet will be resting on the hot sidepipes. Now I'm no thermodynamics expert, but I know that hot steel and thin plastic/fiberglass are probably not meant come into contact with each other.

The result is that everytime I get off the bike I'm lugging the damn helmet under my arm.

Do newer bikes have this problem too? I know most new ones have the exhaust on just one side, but there are some that have pipes on both sides, how are their helmet locks situated in relation to the pipes?

Later,
Eric

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
I have a $600+ Criville replica Shoei and there's no way I'm letting that thing sit on the helmet lock. On my F3, my old helmet would rest on the passenger peg. You never know when some idiot is going to come along and may move the helmet (thereby scratching it) maybe without meaning to. I think the helmet lock is better situated on my RR but I'm not going to try it unless I have to.

·
Registered
52 Posts
I see a pattern

I buy fairly solid colored helmets, and don't mind a few scratches. If I'm planning on staying away from the bike for a while, I leave it in the lock. Otherwise, I just take it with me.

·
Registered
468 Posts
I always take my helmet with me. There are too many people that will cut the strap on your helmet to take it if you leave it on your bike. Besides, there is no way that I am leaving my Arai Quantum/f at the mercy of whoever happens to walk by my bike.

·
Registered
192 Posts
I use the helmet lock on my ZR750F2 along with a helmet lock extender. Allows me to use the lock when I have my saddlebags on, or if I carry a passenger and need to lock up their helmet as well. Wish the bike would have had two locks, but you can't have everything. :)