Sportbike World banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll be 16 pretty soon and I'm interested in getting a sportbike. Because of the cost of the bike,insurance, etc., I can't really afford anything new (my parents will help pay for the insurance only). I've thought about lots of different bikes I could get, but the cheapest ones I find are early sportbikes from the 80's.

I would prefer something around $1500 at the most, maybe $2000 total - including gear. The only bikes I know of are the Interceptor and the Kawi GPZ's, but even still, I don't no much about them.

My question is: is this the kind of bike to get? Keep in mind, I have no experience whatsoever. If it helps, I'm about 5'8" 170lbs.

Thanks.

------------------

·
Registered
440 Posts
Welcome to the forum minvert. There were a lot of excellent bikes built in the '80s. A short and incomplete list for beginners would include:

Kawasaki GPz550, Yamaha 550 Seca, Honda 500 Interceptor, Suzuki GS650E... you get the idea.

Keep in mind that you'll need to spend almost as much on protective gear as on the bike, and when you get a bike that old you'd better be prepared to put some money into it and work on it yourself. Just consider the latter part of the fun.

Helmets are (obviously) important. You don't need the latest $500 wonder helmet from Arai. Less expensive helmets offer the same level of protection, but less comfort. Check your local bike shops for fit and availability.

Newenough.com has some great deals on jackets and boots. Ideally, you'll wear the full getup: helmet, boots, jacket, pants and gloves.

Good luck, and let us know if you need any specific advice when you find a potential ride.

------------------
"When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro."
Hunter S. Thompson

S

·
0 Posts
EX500! And thats all I gotta say about that !

------------------
Watch out where those Huskies go , Don't you eat that yellow snow ....

Adam

·
Registered
873 Posts