Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
Hi ESanders2-

I'd rather put fresh lubricant on a warmed-up chain rather than a cold one for superior penetration. You'll still get "fling" either way.

~ Blue Jays ~

·
Registered
18 Posts
1) "Does riding before chain lube help??" Yes, I think. I hear it's better to lube a warm chain than a cold one. I don't know how true that is but the biggest reason I lube after riding is so the lube has all night (usually) to drip off. I put some old cardboard under the chain to catch the drips.

2) "Is chain lube going to fling anyway?" Yes

I won't get into what I use for chain lube except that it's a pretty light oil. When I get home I usually wipe off the underside of my rear fender to get the flung oil off.

·
Registered
6,400 Posts
In honesty I have been lubing chains since way back in 1946 & having some terrible results through the years with many, many different things to even an idea I passed on to Greeves, being put oil in the s/arm tube with a small adjustable tap that can be fully off or on to a very slow drip. Turned out to be useful in comp like enduros of several days.

In fact Mick Andrews copied from Greeves & passed that on to Ossa & then on to Yamaha.

Problem was it could be quite messy as we used light viscousities of oil in our trials.

There is an auto oilier one can purchase & if used correctly it does a super job. I simply have not purchased & installed three of them on my bikes. Believe it is called "Scotts Oiler".

Still I have not had oil fling on my bikes once I have lubed them with any of the on the shelf sprays. Mind you there is a trick.

You come in for your last run of the day, the chain is hot so lube the chain when hot, but do NOT sturate it. Leave the bike overnight & when you take off that is it -------- the lube has soaked in. If it does fling then you have applied to much. It is as simple as that.