Sportbike World banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a college student and plan on buying a sport bike next semestar, but i have one problem. I will only have about 4k to spend on one and some people say that i could get a honda cbr f4i for that or an older gsxr600 for that. When i look at prices online ( ebay for example) they are like atleast 5k or more so my question is could i pull off getting a f4i for 4k or is it gonna be too difficult? If so where should i look. I went to a bike shop and they had used ones but they were still too expensive. If you had any input or advice from past experiences i would really appreciate it....thx

·
Registered
8,798 Posts
You could find a descent bike for $3k. Is it going to be your first? Look into Suzi SV650S. I've seen an '02 for $3k...

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yea this is my first bike and i reallylike the look of the honda f4i and so far people tell me that is a great bike, but i just don't know if i can afford it. Where should i look when i am ready to buy cause ebay just seems too expensive unless i am just missing something.

·
Registered
128 Posts
I don't know about in your kneck of the woods; but up here I look at craigslist.com which has locations all over the country as well as cycle trader mags usually found in most gas stations. I have found quite a few bikes for around $4K. Remember you don't want to get a perfect bling bike etc for your first due to the fact that you will crash or drop it.

·
Registered
7,448 Posts
twist the wrist said:
...Remember you don't want to get a perfect bling bike etc for your first due to the fact that you will crash or drop it.
+1 Finding something that is mechanically sound should be your priority at this stage in your riding career.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #8