Sportbike World banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey....

I'm just getting into motorcycles and it looks like my mom is gonna object. So just curious what were you best arguements or come around stories?

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
You can give her the safety gear song and dance. You could start on a bike more suited to a new rider. A few things like that.

But if she's hardlining it, you're hosed.

·
Registered
525 Posts
You should finacially obtain the bike, gear, and insurance yourself. Parents don't want a death on their consience that they provided the means to.

·
Registered
7,447 Posts
Or, just wait 'til you're 32, like I did. :D

My Dad always said I wasn't allowed to get a bike until he was. He used to ride HD's as a Military Policeman, be he still doesn't own a bike.

Mr. TrevorClever makes a good point. :thumb:

·
Registered
227 Posts
Method 1: Get a job, save money, turn 18, and buy the bike.

Method 2: Turn 18, go to college, use student loan check to buy bike, don't tell mom.

Method 3: Whine like a little bitch until parents/spouse give in.

Method 4: TELL mom you will be getting a bike, buy a bike, get kicked out of the house.

Method 5: Talk to parents/spouse about why you want the bike, engage their interest, take them to MSF with you, have a better relationship with family.

I prefer method 2.

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
wow yeah ... gonna take MSF in a week or so

I'll probably get a bike after!

Won't let it rest till I do.

·
Super Moderator
704 Posts
Thermide said:
Method 5: Talk to parents/spouse about why you want the bike, engage their interest, take them to MSF with you, have a better relationship with family.