Sportbike World banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reading alot about what you guys have to say on these boards and it sounds like you know what you are talking about, so here is one for you.

I have been riding sport bikes for many years now, and at the beginning of this year I got a 95 zx9r (my first big bike). I am pretty sure that it could do a good wheelie, but I don't really like the idea of using the clutch to do so( l like the idea of holding on to both grips). So here is the question. A friend of mine told me that if you drop the front sprocket down one tooth that you would be able to do a wheelie much easier without the clutch, and if it would be easier what would that do to your top speed and your rpms. I am sure that you guys know more than I do so thanks for you help.

·
Premium Member
3,294 Posts
Yes it will help quite a bit. Instead of going down teeth on the front, go up 2 or 3 teeth in the rear. This topic has also been covered a few times before so do a search in this forum.

·
Registered
2,511 Posts
Yup, better to go up in the rear, but keep in mind that you MIGHT or not need to change or add extra links to the chain. Also, rear sprockets are more expensive than front sprockets.

Just FYI.

·
Registered
301 Posts
Troyzx9r

The best route is indeed to go larger on the rear and leave the front as is. The problem with going smaller on the front sprocket is that it makes the chain drag over the front of the swing arm. This is already a problem with the ZX-9; so going up on the rear will actually reduce the effects. I have repaired a number of bikes where the drive chains have cut all the way through the rubber shield and proceeded to cut into the swingarm.