Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,198 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sup Brothas and Sistas,

I am contimplating a career change, and it is starting to become a pretty real possibility. Currently, I work in the Automotive Industry as a Manufacturing Quality Engineer. I have worked in this field for quite a few years, and make a pretty good living. I haven't really fealt the manufacturing pinch that the rest of Michigan has fealt, and I am very thankful of that. Over the past 5 years, I have grown very dis-inchanted with my profession, to the point that I hate going to work everyday. However, I do like the company that I work for, and they are very successful, and growing at a good and reasonable pace.

That said, I know may have the possibility to enter a new career, totally unrelated to manufacturing, and I would have to start at substantially less money than I currently make. It would take 3 or 4 years for me to get where I am at now. The job is somewhat dangerous, but very rewarding, and it has been a dream of mine since I was in my late teens and early twenties. The pay would be less, but with a tight budget, I would definitely be able to make ends meet, and I may be able to get a second job for a while to suppliment my fun stuff.

I don't want to get into to many particulars about the new career possibility, as its not a sure thing yet.

My question is, what would you do, and why?

Thanks for any input

Jon

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
My only suggestion is. Don't burn your bridge.

And how stable is the possible new job?

Other than that, you have to do what ever it is that makes you happy. That's the best thing about our country. You have the ability to do it!

·
Registered
2,324 Posts
You are going to be a hooker?

I think that if you do not inform us as to what the new job is, all we can do is offer generalities.

Will you still be staying local or are you on your way to "other places" for Haliburton?