Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright- I have a question for all you experts in here. I've been riding dirt for the past 11 years and have decided to invest in a street bike. My problem is I'm 6'4 215lbs. I've ridden a few 600's and found those a little to small. I was wondering what bikes you guys would recommend. I have a lot of experience on a motorcycle- but not on the street. What is the best suited street bike for a guy my size and weight? I fell in love with the look of the R6, but it was too small.
I appreciate any expertise you guys can provide.

·
Registered
304 Posts
I don't know exactly what type of sportbike you're looking for, or what you plan on doing with it, but I'll tell you that you're not "too" big for many of the bikes.

I'd recommend checking out the following:

Kawasaki ZX-9R
Honda VFR-800
Aprilia Falco

Just to name a few. Are you interested in new or used? What type of riding will you be doing? There are a number of considerations that you need to address. Good luck though, I'm sure you'll get more responses here than you need.

·
Registered
103 Posts
For me personally (6' @ 205-210) think that a ZX-9R would be a good bike. If you are really confident in ability try out a ZX-11.

·
Premium Member
3,059 Posts
From another point of veiw, I'm 6'2", and 170#'s. My son is 6'6" and 270, I ride a gixxer 600, my son has riden as well, and didn't consider it too small..nor do I. The thing you have to understand is, the riding postiton on some sportbikes, i.e. the gixxer, R6..is what's know as a head down ass up style, like higher pegs, lower bars, which strech ya out over the tank, and make these bikes seem like they are small, when in fact, for spirited road riding, or track riding, or racing,this is prefered, where as a Kaw, or Honda, are more upright, and much more comfy for most folks..Oh..and stay away form the high end Duc's:D

·
Registered
1,698 Posts