Sportbike World banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just in my second year of riding and want a better bike. Knowing that an upgrade in the next few years is possible, does anyone have any thoughts on these two bikes? MAJOR CATCH to my question - I will be taking a trip from Ohio to California roundtrip and need something comfy. Suggestions?

·
Registered
291 Posts
bikerchik said:
I'm just in my second year of riding and want a better bike. Knowing that an upgrade in the next few years is possible, does anyone have any thoughts on these two bikes? MAJOR CATCH to my question - I will be taking a trip from Ohio to California roundtrip and need something comfy. Suggestions?
Comfort is a very personal thing.... I can't stand most Honda's, they're too uncomfortable for me, however Suzukis fit me just fine :) I've owned SVs and they're great bikes that can be easily upgraded if you get bored. They make great racers too :p Just go sit on both and figure out which one is best for you :2cents:

·
Registered
1,344 Posts
SV 650S vs Bandit

I am assuming that you are comparing the SV to a Bandit 600?

Both make equal amounts of horsepower, the SV having more low-end and midrange power vs the Bandit which makes it's peak power at higher rpm. For long rides on the highway, I find 4-cylinder bikes to be smoother than the thumping of a V-twin, so I would prefer the Bandit for that kind of use. (although depending on the bike, 4-cylinder motorcycles can be buzzy at certain rpm).

The SV-S model has a noticeably more aggressive (racy) seating position than the standard style SV. This being the case, the Bandit would be the more comfortable of these 2.

Although I think the Bandit 600 is a better bike for touring, I would have to say that the SV is the better bike in just about any other comparison. A much more modern, newer design. The SV has a better frame and suspension plus it has fuel injection vs Bandit's carbs.

·
Registered
4 Posts