Sportbike World banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This may be a stupid one, but what advantages is there to using synthetic oil as opposed to regular say Pro honda oil? I now have 5,000 miles on my bike and i am ready to do another oil change should I use synthetic? why? Any info greatly appreciated thanks!

------------------

G

·
Yes you can use a synthetic in your bike.
I would first start with a semi-synthetic, but if you already have, jump to a full synthetic.
(i am not a mechanic, do not sue me :))

In short oil is used to seal,lube,cool,clean ect.. Synthetics use man-made chems to become an "Ideal Lubricant" . They perform these task better. they have a broader operating range .. oh go here ... All you want to know about synthetics.... http://www.soslube.com/allyouwanttoknow.html

------------------
Whatever that little sheep said is a damn lie !!

·
Premium Member
3,294 Posts
IMO - Synthetics fall under the law of diminshing
returns. By this I mean for the little gain
you get out of using synthetic (IE a couple
more thousand mile per change) you spend
way too much. I run regular everyday gastrol
20/50 weight in the R1, I change it every
2000 - 3000 miles and I have no problems.
Mind you I do beat the living hell out of this
bike too. I have run in the past all types
of synthetics from Honda Pro to Silkolene to
Golden Spectro.. Other than a very little shifting
difference (Smoother with Synthetics) I have
found no real gains. There was no more wear
with the regular petroleum based as opposed
to the synthetics.

FWIW

Chris

------------------
"The common thread here is insanity."

·
Registered
66 Posts
Originally posted by chris_y2k_r1:
IMO - Synthetics fall under the law of diminshing returns. . . . . There was no more wear with the regular petroleum based as opposed to the synthetics.

chris_y2k_r1,