Sportbike World banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding for about 10 years and Wheelies are no problem for me, but I want to find out the details of what it takes to keep a stand up going for upto a mile. I always start in second and let it go to redline before puting it down. I have an 04 r1 which has plenty of power. I understand the balance point is key, but is second gear capable of this? Or is third gear the only way? Thanks for any knowledgeable help.

·
Registered
610 Posts
cycleguy77 said:
I have been riding for about 10 years and Wheelies are no problem for me, but I want to find out the details of what it takes to keep a stand up going for upto a mile. I always start in second and let it go to redline before puting it down. I have an 04 r1 which has plenty of power. I understand the balance point is key, but is second gear capable of this? Or is third gear the only way? Thanks for any knowledgeable help.
Balance point.. You need to get to the point where the bike feels weightless.. Yes 2nd gear is highly capible.. Just need to practice maybe get someone to take some pictures of how high you are so u can look at them.. I dont think ur high enough by the way it sounds.. Are you clutching or bouncing?

·
Registered
31 Posts
there is no reason to ride a mile long wheelie unless its for a vid,or stunt show. oil starvation can and will occur on many bikes.this will lead to a blown or siezied motor and you being launched onto your head.
anything more than a couple blocks and you have proved your point.
i have seen this happen at far shorter distance than a mile,i have also seen people do them for well over a mile. but they consider there stunt bike disposable.
if you are hitting the redline the bike is not high enough.like suggested get someone to film it and you will know how much further to go back.

·
Registered
489 Posts