Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
I am brand new to sportsbikes and I am contemplating buying an '03 954. I live in Buffalo NY any suggestions on a good dealer to buy from, price to pay, good riding education either practical or books, equipment to purchase and any thing else that might be useful.
I don't ask a lot do I? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Rookie.

·
Registered
150 Posts
OK, I'll bite and assume you are serious.

How old are you? When you say you are brand new to "sportbikes", does that mean you have ridden cruisers or dirt bikes? Or have no motorcycle experience whatsoever?

If you have never ridden a mc before,
DON'T BUY A 900!!!
NOT EVEN A 600!!!

Good starter bikes:
Suzuki 650SV
Ninja 500
Ninja 250

There are plenty of threads in here that explain why so I am not going to.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Yeah, what he said! You'll be scared shitless and that would be with only using about 2% of the bike. Start ALOT smaller. You'll be much happier down the road. Literally.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am serious, I am 30 years old and have experience on a 125 street bike in england about 9 years ago. I realize that jumping right into the 954 is ill-advised but to be honest i am likely to do it anyway so if there is any advice you could share in regards to driver education courses or books or equipment or anything else that may help it would be greatly appreciated.
Rookie

·
Registered
150 Posts
-MSF Course
-Keith Code Books
-Check Honda's website for a price. Knock a few hundred $ off because it is Winter. In the Spring add a few hundred $ because the 954 is a relatively new bike and I am sure Honda is proud of them.
Check the "gear" forum for more detail on gloves, boots, etc.

Please spend ALOT of money on gear. Something tells me you are going to NEED it. :twofinger

·
Registered
60 Posts