Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding for several years...only japanese bikes. I have built several from frame/engine only but I have no experience with Ducati. An oppertunity has presented itself for a 2000 Ducati 748 or 749, need look at bike again, cannot rememeber engine type, with 12k mi. Can someone give me a relatively unbiased opinion? Is the bike worth the extra $$? Stopped by dealership yesterday for second time in a couple days, so dealer is getting wise to my interest. Is it worth giving up my VTR1000?

·
Registered
1,698 Posts
The 749 is new for 2003, so it's a 748. Conveniently, Ducati names it's bikes after their cc's, so the motor is 748cc's.
I've not ridden a 748 but I do know that you'll be giving up quite a bit of hp going from a 1000cc twin to a 748cc twin.

The main tradeoff is that the Duc actually has suspension. :D

Most people will tell you it's not worth it with higher maintenance, higher repair costs, less power etc. Unless of course they are Ducatista, then they'll tell you that you'll love the 748 and never look back. In honesty there's no way to determine for someone else if it's worth it or not.

This is coming from someone who owns an Aprilia RSV Mille despite the above drawbacks, and it's chosen over the RC51, TLs and TLr. :)

·
Registered
193 Posts
for what it's worth,why not a 996-998-999?i do own a japanese bike and a ducati.i can tell you when i ride the 954 it feels "japanese"and the ducati feels like an"suv"there many advantages,too many to list, about a japanese bike.but i can tell you if you have some money to throw at the ducati do it.my duc eats up everything and it's great,seeing the look on people's faces in the pits or after a ride.just for the record my duc has 144 rwhp,the 954 153 rwhp,and the ducati chews it up every time!all the money i spent on it was worth it times ten.

·
Registered
19 Posts