Sportbike World banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, about a month and a half ago I bought a brand new Ninja 500R, and it's my first bike. It just hit 600 miles yesterday though, and I brought it in to the dealership to have its 600 mile checkup. They told me it would cost $230 though! I'm new at buying vehicles, but are check ups not covered in warranties? I've also heard that this first checkup is the most important one, and I should definitely have someone look at it, right? Is that price expensive? Shouls I shop around?

·
S370HSSV 0773H
7,437 Posts
I don't recall either of my 600 mile check-ups (F4 and XX) costing that much. I guess it depends on the bike though, and what they have to do to it, the local shop rates, etc. Just my input, I'd say shop around a little, it can't hurt.

·
Registered
256 Posts
Yes, bikes do need service and usually starting at 600 miles. No, service is usually not covered under warranty unless you made some special deal with the dealer (not likely). Yes, the 600 mile service is important as it gets the break-in oil and filter changed, makes sure that everything works correctly, and that critical bolts are still tight to their torque specs. $230 sounds average for a dealer. Another problem with dealers is that it can sometimes take a month or more to get a service appointment (especially in the summer).

You have 3 choices: do the work yourself if you feel confident and get the service manual (the owner's manual will at least have the maintenance schedule in it), find a good independent shop that will charge 1/2 to 2/3 of what a dealer charges, or bite the bullet and take it to the dealer. My suggestion would be to go to a good independent shop if you or a buddy knows one or take it to the dealer until you have time to either prepare to do it yourself or find a good shop.

BTW, the subsequent services will likely be more expensive as they do more stuff.

·
Registered
38 Posts