Sportbike World banner

1 - 20 of 132 Posts

·
Registered
549 Posts
What is the most important riding lesson you have learned?

This question was contributed by photobug. Thanks for the great question!

I have learned SO many important lessons about riding, so I'll just pick the one that sticks out in my mind the most.

You go where you look. I learned this when my MSF instructor was guiding me through some maneuvers and I was looking at him and almost hit him! They had told us if we look at things, we will hit them, but it didn't really hit home until that happened.

And I'm still learning to this day. Each time something out of the ordinary happens to me on the bike, I try to learn from it. :)

------------------
Stacia
Administrator
'00 CBR F4 (the faster, silver/red model)
"Objects in mirror no longer matter!"

·
Registered
3,644 Posts
the most important lesson--gee, so many.

i think the 12 second rule (looking 12 seconds ahead) is a big one.

then there's one i learned yesterday--"ride your own race, if you're faster, you'll get around them".

------------------
Tony

the views and opinions expressed by tony (cbrf2boy) are the ramblings of a total idiot. sbw.com, it's administrators, moderators, and members don't necessarily agree with and are not responsible for anything this idiot has to say.

for more ramblings try cbrf2boy

·
Registered
1,408 Posts
I'd have to go with "You go where you look". Only within the last 6 months have I truly learned to trust my peripheral vision enough to keep looking in the direction I want to go. I found it a little unnerving to be going through a corner, and looking about 100ft or more ahead and to the right or left of where I am....in a car, you tend to focus directly in front of you, and that was pretty well emblazened in my head.

Now...it's becoming second nature even in the car to look where I'm going not where I'm at.

W-

------------------
Will Darton
Administrator
http://azsportbike.net
99ZX-6e

·
Premium Member