Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums (https://www.sportbikeworld.com/forums/)
-   Kawasaki (https://www.sportbikeworld.com/forums/11-kawasaki/)
-   -   ZX-6R as a starter bike? (https://www.sportbikeworld.com/forums/11-kawasaki/51264-zx-6r-starter-bike.html)

wombat7 04-27-2005 08:37 PM

ZX-6R as a starter bike?

I know some of you are going to get upset and tell me to search, but I did and I didn't get any data that seemed to help me. I am looking to get my first street bike and right now one of my top two choices are a Yamaha R6 and a Ninja ZX-6R. If you have ever ridden both, what are your opinions, and what are your opinions on a ZX-6R as a first street bike? I have basic riding background as I have ridden dirtbikes before. I also plan on taking a MSF course before getting the bike.

Ebbs15 04-27-2005 09:11 PM

well... alot of people will tell you to start small... in other words... not with a RR 600.... (RR= Race Replica) others will tell you to start with what ever your comfortable with... to me? I think as long as your being sensable and not deciding on the looks... you'll be ok... but definatlly becarefull... and hit up the MSF course!... good luck bro!:cheers:

wombat7 04-27-2005 09:15 PM

Kinda off topic... but how do you expect to ride a bike while you're stationed at Elmendorf??

Ebbs15 04-27-2005 09:25 PM

lol... see I asked before I moved up and that's why I DON'T have a bike... they told me no riding season... I was actually on my way to the dealership... and wanted to be sure... so I didn't buy the bike... and ended up buy'n a new truck instead... I got up here and found out that the summers are actually pritty tame... avg temp of low 70's... but the draw back is the riding season is only 4 to 4.5 months... so now I'm saving $ again.... lol... should have enough to buy my SV650s outright next summer...

sorry kinda long winded ;):cheers:

wombat7 04-27-2005 09:31 PM