Sportbike World banner

Taking a ticket to City Hall,

761 views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  Wolfman 
#1 · (Edited)
last monday I walked to my two week old Ninja 250 to discover a $40 parking ticket, for parking in a spot that I had been using for the past 14 months, I have seen meter maids walk past my bike without missing a step, I have parked behind police cars in the spot and not even raised an eyebrow, I had talked for ten minutes with a state trooper about my new bike while it was parked in the spot a week earlier and he didn't even mention that the spot was close to illegal.

My only guesses were that it was from a new officer, or that since the ninja has bodywork(it was stuck in between the gauges and the windscreen) it was more inviting to a ticket from some bored cop who had nothing better to do than my Ducati Monster.

Shocked, I imediately went to the police station and talked to one of the motorcycle cops, they said they knew where I park and have seen my bike there before and didn't know anything about the legality of the spot, only that I would have to dispute the ticket.

I then went to the court this tuesday to see the hearing officer, who is a retired Lieutenant with the peekskill police. After throwing out several tickets, including one parking in a fire zone, he told me that I got caught and said that I could apeal the ticket in court, but it would cost me more money.

I feel that if it were his scenario, and that I got caught and the officer did the tight thing. Then why did this go on for over a year without me getting a single ticket or warning?

He told me that the City of Peekskill considers all registered motor vehicles as the same, meaning that there is no information pertaining to motorcycles, this means: