|Topic Review (Newest First)|
|08-02-2002 05:22 PM|
|spongebob||anyway, i bought a still in the crate 98 suzuki in nevada, brought it to california (with 0 miles) and registered it..no problems,,guess i was lucky.. this is a 49 state bike..|
|08-02-2002 07:52 AM|
Before anyone else responds saying they did it, keep in mind that the rules for registering new vehicles in California are DIFFERENT for current California residents than for people moving to California from other states. People moving from other state can bring their 49-state models with them regardless of mileage.
Exceptions are made if you acquire a vehicle through a transfer by inheritance or by a decree of divorce. Also, the bar to registration would not appy if your vehicle was damaged or stolen while out of California and you had to replace that vehicle while out of California.
These rules clearly amount to selective enforcement and an injustice perpetrated upon California residents that probably would not pass muster in a class action suit or civil claim against the DMV.
I suppose that you could appeal to the DMV asking for logic in the matter and request a waiver citing selective enforcement.
|08-02-2002 07:44 AM|
Here's your answer:
"What should a California resident look for when buying a new vehicle from another state?
Individuals are prohibited from importing, purchasing, or leasing a new vehicle from another state, unless the vehicle was manufactured for sale in California, and the Environmental Protection Agency label certifies the vehicle has California smog equipment. California considers a new vehicle to be any vehicle with less than 7,500 miles on the odometer at the time of purchase. "
In other words, in order to prevent California residents from buying a NEW motorcycle in another state or country and then importing it into California thereby bypassing the more expensive and stricter emissions (read lower performance models) required by California, the state says you must have at least have 7,500 miles on the bike to bring it in.
The 7,500 mile requirement is ONLY for vehicles that don't meet the California emissions requirements. There is no 7,500 mile minimum requirement for motorcycles that have a manufacturer’s sticker indicating that they comply with California standards.
The odometer statement on the title or bill of sale should exceed 7,500 miles. The California DMV wants the mileage to be over 7,500 miles at the time it enters the state. They check the odometer reading against the odometer statement on the title and/or bill of sale. They consider the date of the sale (i.e. when you take ownership) as the time the bike "enters the state". If your bike was purchased and documented with 3,000 miles, and you try to bring it in with an odometer reading 7,500+ miles, you’ve got a problem.
|08-01-2002 09:22 PM|
|08-01-2002 08:46 PM|
now i can get that baby. muhahahahaha
|08-01-2002 08:43 PM|
|spongebob||yes there is a differance, and yes you can licence a 49 state bike here in california...i did..go and do it..|
|08-01-2002 06:40 PM|
so is there a definite answer for my question?
is there anywhere i can look up to check if i can register and insure a bike in CA that was shipped from another state and it only has few thousand miles (less than 7500) ?
i just looked at the dmv site again, and i dont see anything about 7500 miles.
i really need help with this guys, cuz i'm looking for a bike and i dont want to have a bike shipped here which i wont even be able to register. please help.
|07-26-2002 12:31 PM|
i would imagine everyone from mexico has either a arizona or california drivers licience. how can you pass a drivers test when you cant speak or read the language?? im wondering what kind of drivers licence i could get in mexico..not speaking or reading the language!!! and anyone ever notice all the cars that belong in a "pick-a-part" are on the road blowing blue smoke...??
sorry for the rant........
|07-25-2002 11:06 PM|
|Robert||The long waits at the California DMV sound just like the ones we have here in Arizona! And you think you have it bad in Cali? We are not allowed to make appointments here.|
|07-25-2002 10:39 PM|
|RayO||Will you stop exaggerating about the wonderful folks at the CA DMV. The "smog impact fee" for out-of-state cars that was declared a no-no was only $300 not $400. Appointments are the only way to go. When I was getting my m/c permit, I went down on a Saturday afternoon without an appointment. Yes, *one* office in an area of over 1 million people is open on Saturday. The good news was that I had plenty of time to study the book while I waited in line and passed the test. As a matter of fact, the dufus in front of me in line had enough time to go home and come back *twice* with stuff he forgot all while we waited.|
|This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.|