Totally new, need a crash course - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-03-2012, 02:36 PM Thread Starter

Totally new, need a crash course

Hi there,

I'll soon be heading out to the rural area of Japan to teach English and play for a low-level football (soccer) team in Nagano. Cars are expensive and probably wouldn't be very cost effective for me. I'll probably be staying in Azumino City which is about 45 minutes away from Matsumoto City by car. More than likely, I'll just have a bike (which is okay for some things).

With more than a two hour ride EVERY morning ahead of me on bike, I began wondering what my options were. Then I thought about a sports bike, as I've always wanted one. They're cheaper than a car but still have some benefits that a bike has (like parking and size).

I want to buy in Japan instead of ship it out. Unfortunately, I'm a complete bike noob. I don't even know how to classify bikes (I know that I'm not a fan of the harley-looking bikes; I prefer the ones you have to learn forward with while you ride). I don't know if there is a word for people like me, but I just want the style. Even if it can't go faster than 60 MPH, I don't care.

What should I be looking at? Maybe less than $3,000, doesn't have to be fast, and I prefer something that doesn't generate a lot of noise. Is there a noob beginner guide for bikes? I'd like to know what I'm getting myself into.

Edit: It also must be street legal in Japan.

Thanks

Last edited by Chrispayneable; 06-03-2012 at 02:46 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-04-2012, 11:28 AM

Chrispayneable
You sir are looking for a 250cc sports bike! And though I've never been to Japan, almost ever bike I've spent time on as been from there.

Two great bikes are the Kawasaki ninja 250 and the Honda CBR 250. Both will go faster than you will need to and are very forgiving.